World of Wonders

This piece is composed for the Windcorp brass band in Gothenburg and it’s a musical portrait of the world in which we live. The music is written to describe six different pictures in a slideshow: The Great Mountains, The Babbling Brook, The Big Calm Tree, Storm With Thunder, Fishes in the Living Sea and a concluding verse from the Bible. Unfortunately I don’t have the right to share these pictures on the web but if you will play this piece of music with your band please contact me and I will help you get the slideshow.

A more detailed description:

The piece is divided in six parts. The opening theme describes the majestic sight of great mountains. It’s played by the cornets and the horns. My thought is that these two instrumental groups shall blend and sound like a French horn.

In the second part of the piece the music will change. Now the babbling brook is about to be described. The listener shall hear the water ripple through the landscape easily and playful. A trace of Nordic traditional music style can be heard and even if the music should be played very light and joyfully it’s important to hold down the tempo and play very steady and without any stress. 7 bars before the letter “H” I want the listener to feel how the water continues further in the landscape while the audience stays to be lead into the next part of the piece.

Now it’s time for the big calm tree to take place in the music. This part gives the band as well as the soloists a good opportunity to show there qualities in soft and beautiful playing. In the letter “L” we will feel the full size of the tree when the music blossom into a warm forte. Think of a big thickly wooded tree a sunny day at summer and try to interpret the music from that thought.

After a while the music starts to get a bit restless and worried and gradually it grows into a trembling chaos. A terrible storm has taken over in the piece and this part of the music shall be preformed with great dramatic attitude and sometimes even with a brutal style of playing. In the letter “Q” the percussion section have an important solo, they shall imitate lightning and thunder. In this letter the basses’ parts can be considered “optional”. The twelfth bar in “T” is the climax of the piece. Only the size of the concert hall and the sensitivity of the audience can limit the horrifying roar of the great storm in this letter.

Further ahead the storm diminishes and the music takes a sudden turn. A playful school of fish enters and different instruments play swiftly motions up and down to picture the fishes swimming around in the water. If this little part is too difficult for your band to play go directly to the letter “W” and continue. The basses, euphonium, baritone and the percussion section starts to play a “bubbling” accompaniment and the second baritone, second and first horn has an important effort in forms of trilling. A teamwork play by cornet and trombone re-establish the opening theme of the piece (The Great Mountains). The 9th bar of the letter “X” is a small quotation from the 4th and 3rd bars before “F” earlier in the music. The fishes continue swimming and in “BB” there is one more quotation from the second part (The Babbling Brook) and in the letter “CC” the theme of “The Big Calm Tree” comes back in a swinging final of the piece.

After the final the music calms down to a soft ending. If you use pictures while playing this piece here you can show a beautiful nature picture together with this verse from the Bible: “Lift your eyes and look to the heavens: Who created all these?”  (Isa. 40:26a). Many people consider our beautiful world to be a creation of chance but I believe that there is a God behind all the amazing things we see. I also believe that God wants to be a part of his creation, to have a personal relationship with every human being in this world.

Description: Concert Music
Score size: Large
Price: 61,5 € (+ 6% VAT in the European Community)
Swedish price: 599 SEK

score ex